CNC Engraving Machine for Jewelry

Milling of a jewelry pendant - St. Michael

The jewelry CNC engraving machine enables engraving and milling of high quality jewelry. Whether your workpieces have a flat or curved surface. The engraving machine automatically compensates for curved surfaces by scanning. In this example, a curved round of gold is engraved for a jewelry pendant.

jewelry pendants in the cnc engraving machine

Conditions of the Jewelry Engraving

CNC Engraving Machine

ENGRAVER

CAM-Software

CamDRAW

Clamping device

Centering vise

Workpiece material

Gold

Cooling / Lubrication

Minimum quantity lubrication, cooling by air and spray mist

Tools

Graver Ø0.2mm / 15 degrees and Ø0.3mm / 15 degrees

Drawing for the CNC Engraving Machine

At the beginning, the drawing of the engraving is created. This is done in CorelDraw with the CamDRAW CAM software. The drawing is then available as a vector drawing. Of course, finished drawings can also be imported into CorelDraw, e.g. as CDR, DXF, DWG or SVG. The CNC engraving machine supports all drawing formats which can be imported by CorelDraw.

2d drawing for the engraving machine

Tool paths for the CNC Engraving Machine

Once the jewelry drawing is complete, the toolpaths for the engraving machine can now be created. This is done very easily with the CAM plugin directly in CorelDraw. First, you select the appropriate profile (postprocessor). All postprocessors, tool libraries and settings are included with our CNC engraving machine. This allows you to start immediately. The next step is to set the workpiece zero point. This is usually located in the center of the drawing when engraving with the centering clamp.

cam plugin for the cnc engraving machine

Next, the toolpaths can be added. In this example, two tool operations Contour Milling are enough. Select the desired drawing objects with the mouse and click on Contour Milling. A new window opens where you can set all the settings of the machining operation. The CAM software creates a live preview of the toolpaths. The first operation for the CNC engraving machine is machined with the a Ø0.2mm / 15 degrees graver.

contour milling operation for engraving the jewelry pendant

The second operation is the milling out inside the arches. These cutouts are machined through the entire depth of the material. Thus, the individual material segments fall out of the blank at the end. The machining takes place with a Ø0.3mm / 15 degree graver.

operation 2 for milling with the cnc engraving machine

Create CNC Program for the Engraving Machine

The last step is to create the CNC program (G-code) in CamDRAW. After creation, the entire CNC program is rendered three-dimensionally. Here, errors and possible deviations can be checked. Then the program is transferred to the CNC engraving machine. The milling of the jewelry pendant can be started.

3d rendering of CNC programs in Camdraw

Summary of engraving a Jewelry Pendant

CNC-Graviermaschine für Schmuck

Fräsen eines Schmuckanhängers - St. Michael

Die CNC-Graviermaschine für Schmuck ermöglicht das Gravieren und Fräsen von hochwertigen Schmuckstücken. Egal ob Ihre Werkstücke eine ebene oder gewölbte Oberfläche aufweisen. Die Gravurmaschine kompensiert gewölbte Oberflächen durch ein Abtasten automatisch. In diesem Beispiel wird eine gewölbte Ronde aus Gold für einen Schmuck-Anhänger graviert.

schmuck anhänger in der cnc-graviermaschine

Randbedingungen der Schmuckgravur

CNC-Graviermaschine

ENGRAVER

CAM-Software

CamDRAW

Spannmittel

Zentrischspanner

Werkstoff des Werkstücks

Gold

Kühlung / Schmierung

Minimalmengenschmierung, Kühlung durch Luft und Sprühnebel

Werkzeuge

Gravierstichel Ø0.2mm / 15 Grad und Ø0.3mm / 15 Grad

Zeichnung für die CNC-Graviermaschine

Zu Beginn wird die Zeichnung der Gravur erstellt. Dies erfolgt in CorelDraw mit der CAM-Software CamDRAW. Die Zeichnung liegt dann als Vektor-Zeichnung vor. Natürlich können auch fertige Zeichnungen z.B. als CDR, DXF, DWG oder SVG in CorelDraw importiert werden. Die CNC-Graviermaschine unterstützt alle Zeichnungsformate, welche durch CorelDraw importiert werden können.

2d zeichnung für die graviermaschine

Werkzeugwege für die CNC-Graviermaschine

Nach der Fertigstellung der Schmuckzeichnung können nun die Werkzeugwege für die Graviermaschine erstellt werden. Dies erfolgt sehr einfach mit dem CAM Plugin direkt in CorelDraw. Zunächst wählt man das geeignete Profil (Postprozessor) aus. Alle Postprozessoren, Werkzeugbibliotheken und Einstellungen sind im Lieferumfang unserer CNC-Graviermaschine enthalten. Dadurch kann sofort durchstartet werden. Als nächstes setzt man den Werkstück-Nullpunkt. Dieser befindet sich beim Gravieren mit dem Zentrischspanner meistens in der Mitte der Zeichnung.

cam plugin für die cnc-gravurmaschine

Als nächstes können die Werkzeugwege hinzugefügt werden. In diesem Beispiel reichen zwei Werkzeugoperationen Konturfräsen aus. Man wählt die gewünschten Zeichenobjekte mit der Maus an und klickt auf Konturfräsen. Es öffnet sich ein neues Fenster in dem man alle Einstellungen der Bearbeitungsoperation setzen kann. Die CAM-Software erstellt eine Live-Vorschau der Werkzeugwege. Die erste Operation für die CNC-Graviermaschine wird mit dem Gravierstichel Ø0.2mm / 15 Grad bearbeitet.

konturfräsen operation zum gravieren des schmuck anhängers

Die zweite Operation ist das Ausfräsen innerhalb der Bögen. Diese Ausfräsungen werden durch die gesamte Materialtiefe  bearbeitet. Somit fallen die einzelnen Materialsegmente am Ende aus der Ronde heraus. Die Bearbeitung findet mit einem Ø0.3mm / 15 Grad Gravierstichel statt.

operation 2 zum fräsen mit der cnc-graviermaschine

CNC-Programm für die Graviermaschine erstellen

Als letzten Schritt erzeugt man in CamDRAW das CNC-Programm (G-Code). Nach der Erstellung wird das gesamte CNC-Programm dreidimensional gerendert. Hier können Fehler und evtl. Abweichungen geprüft werden. Anschließend überträgt man das Programm an die CNC-Graviermaschine. Das Fräsen des Schmuck-Anhängers kann gestartet werden.

3d rendering des cnc programmes in camdraw

Zusammenfassung vom Gravieren eines Schmuck-Anhängers