Milling Center for Micro Machining

Milling a Jewelry Ring

The machining center for micro-machining enables milling with very small and filigree tools. The high-frequency machining spindle and the precise and stable design of the milling center ensure process-reliable machining even with small tools. Using the example of a jewelry ring, we would like to explain the application of micro-machining (the micro-milling). 

cnc milling center for micro milling or micro machining

Conditions of Micro Machining

CNC milling center for micro machining

ENGRAVER

CAM-Software

Fusion 360

Clamping device

Three-jaw chuck with brass jaws

Workpiece material

Silver

Cooling / Lubrication

Minimum quantity lubrication, cooling by air and spray mist

Tools

End mill Ø0.6mm, Ø0.4mm, Ø0.25mm

Model of the Ring for Micro Milling

At the beginning of the micro milling with the CNC machining center, the model of the ring is designed. This can be created using any CAD program or Fusion 360. Of course, external CAD models can also be imported, e.g. as Step files, SolidWorks files or Rhino files. We create a cross-sectional sketch for the jewelry ring, which is then extruded around the center axis. We then draw in additional sketches as sections of the microcut. These sketch profiles are stamped into the surface of the ring at the end. 

ring model for micro milling
design ring model for the milling center micro machining
drawing ring model for machining center

Toolpaths for Micro Machining with Milling Center

After the ring model has been completed, the toolpaths for microcutting can now be created. On this page, we use the Fusion 360 CAM environment for this. Of course, our machining center can also work with other CAM programs. Please contact us for more information.

To create the toolpaths, we switch to the Fusion manufacturing environment. There, the setup for micromilling is set first. We set the workpiece coordinate system and define the blank. To simplify the creation of the toolpaths, the spaces between the ring arcs are suppressed. This means that the gaps can be milled using the pocket machining method.

setting the setup for milling center

Once the micro-machining setup is defined, the individual tool operations can be added. The first machining operation is 2D pocket milling inside the arc profile of the jewelry ring. To do this, start the machining operation in Fusion and select the corresponding machining surfaces. Then you select a machining tool for the operation. For the microcutting of the first operation, a Ø0.6mm end mill is used. In Fusion and CamDRAW, all tools are stored in a tool library. All cutting data, geometries and properties can be stored for each tool. Included with our CNC machining center for micro cutting are tool libraries for a very large number of milling and engraving tools that can be used for micro milling. These tool libraries include all common milling and engraving tools.

first operation of micromachining

The next operation is micromilling between the individual arc segments. The procedure is identical to the first operation, except that a different tool is selected. A Ø0.4mm end mill is used.

second operation for cnc machining center micromilling

The final machining operation is contour milling on the walls of the micro-milled pockets. This is used to reduce and remove the radii in the corners of the pockets. Since the pocket machining operations were performed with larger tools, small radii remain in the corners due to the process. These are now reduced with a small end mill of Ø0.25mm to such an extent that they are no longer visible to the naked eye. The total number of operations required is three. Now machining is almost ready for milling with the machining center for microcutting. 

third operation 2d contour milling with the micro machining center

Simulation of the tools for safe micromilling

Optionally, you can simulate the entire machining process in Fusion. To do this, simply click on the setup and select Simulation. In the simulation, collisions or other errors are detected and reported very well.

simulation of the cnc program for milling center
micromilling second simulation

Create CNC program for the milling center for microcutting

The last step is to create a new CNC program in Fusion. This is needed to output the machine code ( G-Code) for the machine. Here only the correct postprocessor for the milling center ENGRAVER is selected. The output can start. All necessary postprocessors for the ENGRAVER are included with the machine. If you work with another CAM software, a suitable postprocessor for our machine can be created for this with pleasure.

Summary of micromilling with the machining center

Fräszentrum für Mikrozerspanung

Fräsen eines Schmuck-Ringes

Das Bearbeitungszentrum für die Mikrozerspanung ermöglicht das Fräsen mit sehr kleinen und filigranen Werkzeugen. Die Hochfrequenz-Bearbeitungsspindel und der präzise und stabile Aufbau des Fräszentrums gewährleisten eine prozesssichere Bearbeitung auch mit kleinen Werkzeugen. Am Beispiel eines Schmuck-Ringes möchten wir Ihnen die Anwendung der Mikrozerspanung (das Mikrofräsen) erläutern. 

cnc fraeszentrum zum mikrofraesen oder der mikrozerspanung

Randbedingungen der Mikrozerspanung

CNC-Fräszentrum für Mikrozerspanung

ENGRAVER

CAM-Software

Fusion 360

Spannmittel

Dreibackenfutter mit Spannbacken aus Messing

Werkstoff des Werkstücks

Silber

Kühlung / Schmierung

Minimalmengenschmierung, Kühlung durch Luft und Sprühnebel

Werkzeuge

Schaftfräser Ø0.6mm, Ø0.4mm, Ø0.25mm

Modell des Rings für das Mikrofräsen

Am Anfang des Mikrofräsens mit dem CNC-Bearbeitungszentrum wird das Modell des Ringes entworfen. Dieses kann mit einem beliebigen CAD-Programm oder auch mit Fusion 360 erstellt werden. Natürlich können auch externe CAD-Modelle z.B. als Step-Dateien, SolidWorks-Dateien oder Rhino-Dateien importiert werden. Für den Schmuck-Ring erstellen wir eine Querschnittskizze, welche dann um die Mittelachse extrudiert wird. Anschließend zeichnen wir weitere Skizzen als Ausschnitte der Mikrozerspanung ein. Diese Skizzenprofile werden am Ende in die Oberfläche des Ringes geprägt. 

ring modell zum mikrofräsen
entwurf ringmodell für das fräszentrum mikrozerspanung
zeichnen des ringmodells für das bearbeitungszentrum

Werkzeugwege zur Mikrozerspanung mit Fräszentrum

Nach der Fertigstellung des Ringmodells können nun die Werkzeugwege für die Mikrozerspanung erstellt werden. Auf dieser Seite verwenden wir dafür die CAM-Umgebung von Fusion 360. Natürlich kann unser Bearbeitungszentrum auch mit anderen CAM-Programmen arbeiten. Kontaktieren Sie uns bitte für weitere Informationen.

Zur Erstellung der Werkzeugwege wechseln wir in die Fertigungsumgebung von Fusion. Dort wird als erstes das Setup für das Mikrofräsen eingestellt. Man setzt das Werkstück-Koordinatensystem und definiert das Rohteil. Zur Vereinfachung der Erstellung der Werkzeugwege werden die Zwischenräume der Ringbögen unterdrückt. Somit kann man die Zwischenräume mit der Taschen-Bearbeitungsmethode fräsen.

einstellen des setups für fräszentrum

Ist das Setup der Mikrozerspanung definiert können die einzelnen Werkzeugoperationen hinzugefügt werden. Die erste Bearbeitungsoperation ist das 2D-Taschenfräsen im Inneren des Bogenprofils des Schmuckrings. Dazu startet man die Bearbeitungsoperation in Fusion und wählt die dazugehörigen Bearbeitungsflächen. Anschließend wählt man noch ein Bearbeitungswerkzeug für die Operation aus. Für die Mikrozerspanung der ersten Operation kommt ein Ø0.6mm Schaftfräser zum Einsatz. In Fusion und CamDRAW sind alle Werkzeuge in einer Werkzeugbibliothek gespeichert. Alle Schnittdaten, Geometrien und Eigenschaften können für jedes Werkzeug abgelegt werden. Im Lieferumfang unseres CNC Bearbeitungszentrums für die Mikrozerspanung befinden sich Werkzeugbibliotheken für sehr viele Fräs- und Gravierwerkzeuge, welche für das Mikrofräsen eingesetzt werden können. Diese Werkzeugbibliotheken umfassen alle gängigen Fräs- und Gravierwerkzeuge.

erste operation der mikrozerspanung

Die nächste Operation ist das Mikrofräsen zwischen den einzelnen Bogensegmenten. Vorgehensweise ist identisch zur ersten Operation, außer das Auswählen eines anderen Werkzeugs. Es kommt ein Ø0.4mm Schaftfräser zum Einsatz.

zweite operation für das cnc bearbeitungszentrum mikrofräsen

Die letzte Bearbeitungsoperation ist das Konturfräsen an den Wänden der mikrogefrästen Taschen. Dies dient zur Reduzierung und Entfernung der Radien in den Ecken der Taschen. Da die Taschenbearbeitungen mit größeren Werkzeugen durchgeführt wurden, bleiben prozessbedingt kleine Radien in den Ecken stehen. Diese werden nun mit einem kleinem Schaftfräser von Ø0.25mm so stark reduziert, dass sie mit bloßem Auge nicht mehr sichtbar sind. Die Gesamtanzahl der notwendigen Operationen sind drei. Nun ist Bearbeitung zum Fräsen mit dem Bearbeitungszentrum für die Mikrozerspanung fast bereit. 

dritte operation 2d konturfräsen mit dem mikro bearbeitungszentrum

Simulation der Werkzeuge zum sicheren Mikrofräsen

Optional kann man die gesamte Bearbeitung in Fusion simulieren lassen. Dazu klickt man einfach auf das Setup und wählt Simulation aus. In der Simulation werden Kollisionen oder andere Fehler sehr gut erkannt und gemeldet.

simulation des cnc programms für fräszentrum
mikrofräsen zweite simulation

CNC-Programm für das Fräszentrum für die Mikrozerspanung erstellen

Als letzten Schritt erstellt man ein neues CNC-Programm in Fusion. Dies wird zur Ausgabe des Maschinencodes (G-Code) für die Maschine benötigt. Hier wird nur der richtige Postprozessor für das Fräszentrum ENGRAVER ausgewählt. Die Ausgabe kann starten. Alle notwendigen Postprozessoren für den ENGRAVER befinden sich im Lieferumfang der Maschine. Wenn Sie mit einer anderen CAM-Software arbeiten, kann hierfür gerne ein geeigneter Postprozessor für unsere Maschine erstellt werden.

Zusammenfassung des Mikrofräsens mit dem Bearbeitungszentrum